Tips For Eating In A Chinese Restaurant When You Follow A Gluten-Free Diet

12 June 2017
 Categories: Food & Cooking, Blog


Chinese cuisine has a number of delicious dishes that people love to enjoy. But if you have Celiac's disease or a gluten allergy, dining at a Chinese restaurant can present some challenges. Don't worry, following a gluten-free diet doesn't mean you can't step foot into a Chinese restaurant-- you will just need to be prepared. Use the following tips for dining at a Chinese restaurant when you're gluten-free:

Talk to a Manager

In this day and age, following a gluten-free diet is becoming more common and many restaurants are educating their managers and chefs about gluten. When you arrive at a Chinese restaurant, it is in your best interest to ask your server if you can speak to a manager about the fact that you are gluten-free. A good Chinese restaurant will have a manager on duty who can communicate your dietary needs with the kitchen to help ensure that you do not accidentally ingest something made with an ingredient that contains gluten.

Avoid Dishes that Have Brown Sauces

There are many Chinese dishes that feature brown sauces, and these typically are made with soy sauce. Unfortunately, most commercial soy sauces have some wheat in them, so they are not safe for a person who is following a gluten-free diet. Instead, look for menu items that are topped with a white sauce. Most Chinese white sauces call for corn starch as a thickener instead of flour, so they are often gluten-free.

Be Wary of Deep-Fried Dishes

As you're pursuing the menu at a Chinese restaurant, it is usually a good idea to overlook any dish that is deep-fried. A lot of food that is deep-friend is breaded beforehand, making it not safe to eat if you have a reaction to gluten. Even if something is not breaded before frying, it may be cooked in the same oil as breaded items which can lead to cross contamination.

Know Your Best Bets

When dining at a Chinese restaurant, steamed rice, grilled/ steamed vegetables, and meat that is not seasoned is usually a safe bet to eat. Chow fun and mei fun are made with rice noodles, so these can also be safe to eat as long as you avoid having them topped with a sauce containing soy sauce. If you want to enjoy your meal more, always make sure that you bring your own gluten-free tamari sauce and hot chili sauce with you to help add extra flavor. Visit a site like for more information.